Mary Maxim (US) International Shipping - Exclusive Needlework & Crafts Since 1956.

SIGN UP TO RECEIVE EXCLUSIVE EMAIL OFFERS:

Bavarian Lullaby Throw

SKU# 99127999

Item No. 99127999
Quality
Price
Ease of Use
9 Review(s)

Availability: In stock - 10 Colors to Choose From!

$59.99

Click on image to zoom

Customer Reviews

9 Item(s)

per page
its just okay Review by misty
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

this yarn is beautiful yarn!!, the price was a bit crazy for the size of blanket that it makes! And while it was great learning a new stitch , it may be difficult for someone to understand due to that fact that the instructions sent, state they need to be changed in order to do the project. BEAUTIFUL when finished, biggest let down is the price!

(Posted on 7/21/14)

Amazing Yarn and Pattern Review by Donna
Quality
Price
Ease of Use

The yarn is just beautiful. I really like the texture and quality of this yarn. The color I chose is vibrant yet not overwhelming. The pattern book is very easy to follow with lots of other patterns. You are basically only doing 2 rows in triple crochet then repeating those two rows. After only a few rounds I had the pattern memorized and was able to put away the book. Perfect for TV watching!! I plan on making my throw larger though so I will need additional skeins.

(Posted on 7/15/14)

Beautiful yarn; not ideal for afghan Review by Marissa
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

The pattern:
- The Bavarian Lullaby pattern comes from "Learn to do Bavarian Crochet" by Jenny King, Annie's publication 871045, ISBN 978-1-59635-316-9.
- The pattern/technique is simple enough to learn. I did NOT learn from the book, as youtube had already taught me, but the directions seem to be clear.
- I liked receiving an entire pattern book instead of just one pattern. Youtube doesn't have much on making non-square shapes with the Bavarian technique.

The yarn:
- Make sure you read the description of the yarn on its page! First, it's HAND WASH! I'm surprised that a kit was assembled for an afghan that includes hand wash only yarn. This throw is now mostly a decoration as I do not look forward to hand washing it. Second, the yarn is described as: "This roving style yarn has varying thickness." I was not prepared for the amount of variation. It varied from about as fine as thread to as thick and bushy as 4 or 5 weight yarn. If I hadn't been concerned with disrupting the color changes, I would have cut out many sections as they were nearly unworkable.
- The colors are beautiful. They are so rich and deep. If they yarn was machine washable, I'd buy it in more colors.

The kit:
- The kit includes the pattern book, an addendum to the pattern to change from working in different colors to working with variegated yarn, 8 skeins of yarn, and a zippered bag to hold it all. The first 3 items arrived as expected; the zipper on the bag broke the first time I opened the bag, but that's not why I ordered the kit.
- I ordered 3 extra skeins of yarn as I crochet tight/small and like bigger afghans. I used a slightly different pattern than the one intended (a catherine wheel), and the 11 skeins made a 48x48" afghan.

Overall:
- I'm quite disappointed that the yarn is hand wash only. If I'm going to put hours of my time into a crochet project, I want it to be loved and used. I fear really using this stunning afghan because I don't want to wash it - both because hand washing is annoying and the colors are so rich, I'm afraid of them bleeding everywhere. If I had read the yarn description fully before ordering, I would not have bought the kit. I would have ordered the book from another vendor. I'm also glad I bought it on sale. I'd be even more upset if I had paid the full price and didn't use the afghan.
- If you don't mind finicky yarn and hand washing large projects, the kit is a cost-effective way to order a pattern book (9 projects) and acquire 8 skeins of yarn.

(Posted on 6/30/14)

LOVE IT! Review by Marcie
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

This was so much fun! I love the colors and the blanket looks gorgeous! I thought the pattern was going to be harder than it was, before this came I had found some videos on youtube explaining how to do the stitch, but the book is much better. Once you get the hang of it it's easy. I'm ordering more yarn to make the blanket bigger, and am making a blanket from the book. I do wish the yarn were cheaper, but it is beautiful!

(Posted on 8/21/13)

I love this yarn... Review by Catherine M
Ease of Use
Quality
Price

I absolutely love this yarn. I have made the afghan in several different colors. Obviously, I really like the Bavarian way of crocheting, too, so this pattern is fine for me.

I usually get at least one extra skein of yarn, as I like the afghan to be just a bit bigger than the number of skeins sent allows for.

(Posted on 3/12/13)

Absolutely Beautiful Blanket Review by Celena
Quality
Price
Ease of Use

I have not purchased this kit; however I purchased the “Learn to do Bavarian Crochet” book which also includes a pattern to complete a lullaby baby blanket. The colors used are true baby colors but you can use any color and it would turn out beautifully. I would consider myself an intermediate in crocheting. The technique took me a minute to get right and once it perfected it, the blanket worked up fast. If I account for how much I purchased the book for and the cost of the yarn it would equal Mary Maxim’s price. I have completed 2.5 blankets with one purchase 5 balls of baby by the pound yarn @ $6.00 per pound on sale(white, yellow, blue, lavender, and green). I would recommend that Mary Maxim allow pictures of completed projects to attach you reviews.

(Posted on 1/12/13)

Beautiful Review by Kathy
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

Lovely

(Posted on 6/16/12)

Correction of my previous review Review by Maryanne
Ease of Use
Quality
Price

I wanted to correct my previous review. The instructions say exactly what I did as a change for using the variegated yarn. I thought I figured it out on my own, which I did, but the instructions tell you to do exactly what I did, so everything is fine, Also, when I looked at the amount of skeins included, it is a substantial afghan. It uses an 'F' hook and the yarn is thin, so it will take a while, but it should come out to a decent size. It COULD be a little bit cheaper, though, I still feel the price is a bit more than I would like to spend on an afghan kit. Overall, the kits from Mary Marix are a joy to purchase and work with!

(Posted on 5/15/12)

Directions lacking a bit.... but love the afghan! Review by Maryanne
Ease of Use
Quality
Price

This kit comes with a book of several patterns using this stitch, which was nice. The pattern called Bavarian Lullaby is actually done in baby colors, and is lovely. Thus, the pattern doesn't exactly correspond using the variegated yarn in the kit. They put in a note explaining how to work around the instructions, but they failed to include one important item. So this is for those people who are 'stuck' LOL. At the point where you are beginning a new row of clusters, it tells you to join yarn at the chain 1 space in the corner. But when you finish up on the prior row, using the variegated, you end up a few stitches back. You will just need to slip stitch to the correct spot to continue the pattern. No biggie, but some novices might get confused, so hope this helps. Otherwise, the pattern is fun, the yarn (Raindrop which, btw, is my cat's name) is fun to work with to see the colors work up. But I'd also like to make it up in the baby colors! Also, it is a bit pricey for the size afghan.

(Posted on 5/14/12)

9 Item(s)

per page

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register