Mary Maxim (US) Free Shipping $75+ Continental US - Exclusive Needlework & Crafts Since 1956.

SIGN UP TO RECEIVE EXCLUSIVE EMAIL OFFERS:

 

Mary Maxim Prism Yarn

SKU# 161

Item No. 161
Quality
Price
Ease of Use
13 Review(s)
Select quantity then add to cart below.

Click on image to zoom

1612005

Still Waters
$6.99
1611051

Rainbow
$6.99
1611999

Raindrop
$6.99
1612001

Cut Glass
$6.99
1612003

Mirage
$6.99
1612004

Arctic Air
$6.99
1612002

Waterfall
$6.99
1612007

Cobblestone
$6.99
1612008

Autumn Mist
$6.99
1612009

Rain Shower
$6.99

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Krazy Kolors Review by Jean
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

This is just perfect yarn for girls and boys kindergarten and up they seem to love the different colors the yarn does get thin and go thick sorta scared to use it on the bavarian baby blanket but it is fun and keeps you interested in what project you are doing at the time

(Posted on 7/21/14)

I love it! Review by Mary
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

I love the colors! I bought Rainbow to make a broom stick lace scarf for me and crocodile stitch booties for a girl baby, Rain Shower to make crocodile stitch booties for a boy baby and Raindrop, just because I love the colors! The yarn thickness/thinness gives the project extra character.

(Posted on 5/6/14)

Beautiful color-change, no wool Review by Holly
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

Trying to find a sport-weight, self-striping yarn that doesn't have any wool in it is not as easy as it sounds. I purchased this yarn to make this project:

http://www.etsy.com/listing/97686866/crochet-pattern-owl-obsession-a-colorful

The yarn it calls for is beautiful, but has wool in it, which I didn't want to use for a baby.

I was very pleased with the ease of use and the quality of the colors - very bright, with nice long sequences of each color. I could have used a bit less of the hot pink, but that had more to do with my color choice than the manufacturing of the yarn.

(Posted on 2/5/14)

Beautiful color pallet Review by Donna
Ease of Use
Quality
Price

My hairdresser's niece is into peacocks and she thought the Raindrop color would tie in beautifully. She was right. Though I have until October to finish the afghan, I purchased the yarn and started on the afghan. She has no idea just how beautiful it will be. Since the yarn comes in both regular and sparkle, I ordered both kinds and am alternating the plain with the sparkle for a different effect instead of using an off-white in between sections which I normally would do. It has a different appearance. Since I don't have to have this one finished until October, I also ordered "Waterfall" in both types of yarn for an afghan for our nephew who is being married in June of this year. Once I receive that yarn, the "peacock colored one" will be temporarily on hold until I finish the Waterfall one.
Other than occasionally having to "tug" a little bit to pull some stitches out if I goof up, the yarn isn't too bad to work with. The pattern that I am using for both afghans will, even though the yarn is a DK type yarn, give some weight and warmth to them. I can't wait to see how "Waterfall works up into the other afghan.

(Posted on 2/1/14)

beautifully dyed, soft and easy to work with Review by Joanne
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

This fiber comes in several beautiful multicolored yarns; unfortunately the loveliest ones are usually out of stock or discontinued. A lot of yarns that very in thickness are difficult to work with, but this yarn was a dream to crochet and knit with. It is not too bulky for warmer climates (Florida) yet can work up into a warm afghan. I would recommend this yarn to my crafting friends.

(Posted on 10/29/13)

Beautiful colors varing thickness Review by jeanette
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

Bought three projects to make up in this yarn using 3 different colors. All skeins had the same issues going from thread like thickness to rug yarn thickness in a matter of a few inches. Overall it does not affect the finished project but does make it difficult to work with.

Had to purchase an extra skein to finish out one of the projects as well even though my stitch gauge was on spot.

If the colors were not so beautiful I would be overall disappointed in this product.

(Posted on 10/4/13)

Nice Color, Softness; too fuzzy to unravel Review by Sara
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

I love the rich colors and long striping, but, as another reviewer has mentioned, the thickness can vary and, if I make a mistake, unraveling can be difficult. As with all fuzzy yarns, the fuzzes sometimes become tangled and are difficult to unravel.

(Posted on 9/15/13)

pretty coloration and striping Review by Lynn
Ease of Use
Quality
Price

While this yarn is very beautiful and has wonderful self striping effect, the texture leaves much to be desired. It has sections where it is very thin like string and other sections where it is thicker like worsted weight yarn. I do not like the way it stitches up for that reason. Portions of my project are stringy and the design is too thin. I am disappointed to purchase this yarn at this price to have it turn out irregular. I will not purchase this again.

(Posted on 9/8/13)

Wonderful Yarn Review by Carol B.
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

The colors are absolutely beautiful and blend together very well. This yarn is so soft. But the best part for me was even when knitting stocking stitch Prism held my interest because I could not wait to see the next colors emerging. Great yarn. Thanks.

(Posted on 6/20/13)

Love, love, love Review by Pamela
Price
Ease of Use
Quality

I used this to make the entrelac baby afghan, and I love how it turned out. I enjoyed the experience of using it -- bought more yarn for a future grandbaby. Also for a scarf for me. Soft and nice colors.

(Posted on 5/17/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register